Daunting task awaits new NSC board

• Board urged to study legal landscape
Sports minister Agnes Tjongarero has urged the interim NSC board to work in harmony with her office.
Jesse Jackson Kauraisa
Minister of Sport Agnes Tjongarero yesterday appointed seven interim board members to the Namibia Sports Commission (NSC).

She urged the new members to ensure that the board runs smoothly and cordially.

"They will be serving on the board for the next six months until a permanent appointment is made.

"I urge those that have been appointed today to read through the public enterprise act and the legal papers in order to acquaint themselves with the proper laws, which will make it easy for them to operate as a board.

"It is no secret that there was no good relationship between the previous board and the minister.

"This was because they did not know what was laid out in the legal papers, and that is what the new interim board should avoid," Tjongarero said.

Tjongarero appointed Turky Ndashiiva, Monika Shapwa, Simon Uirab, Nicky Kamwi Mbaimbai (chairperson), Linekela Nanyeni, Adelheid Jacobs and Patrick Xoagub as interim board members.

Time to work

The minister explained that an interim board has been put in place for now, because the positions still need to be advertised before permanent appointments are made.

The interim board will buy the ministry time to follow all appointing procedures, while ensuring that the NSC is not on autopilot.

The new board replaces the former board members, whose terms of office came to an acrimonious end.

Joel Matheus, Erica Beukes, Alna Similo, Karen Mubonenwa, Thomas Mbeeli, Dr. Marius Johannes, Nicklaus Ngumono and Linda Chicalu were all relieved of their duties in line with provision (7) (2) (B) of the Namibia Sport Act of 2003.

"Here in Namibia, if you do not read the laws, you will easily end up in hot water," the minister added.