Wins for Dolphins and SFC Vikings

Coastal derby coming up

20 May 2019 | Sports

Rathan Coetzee; Dolphins RC coach; "Our ball handling was not good and we lost many try scoring opportunities . . ."

Adolf Kaure and Karl Philander

Dolphins Rugby Club defeated Erongo Rugby Academy (ERA) 24-3 in a Namibia Rugby Union (NRU) first league clash (western pool) at the Vineta North Sports Field in Swakopmund recently.

Dolphins Rugby Club’s coach Rathan Coetzee said there is still room for improvement before they meet rivals SFC Vikings next week.

“We still need to do more on the training grounds. Our ball handling was not good and we lost many try scoring opportunities due to this. It is back to the drawing board for us.”

Coetzee added that the game had, however, boosted the morale of his troops ahead of the derby clash against the defending champions SFC Vikings.

ERA head coach Griffin Griffiths expressed his dismay with the performance of his charges and that of the officiating referee.

“I feel very disappointed. The referee also made some glaring mistakes. It is, however, part of the game and we have to look past that. At the end of the day it was a good game played in good spirit.”

Dolphins scored four tries, with Anthony van Rooi, Jozimar Brooks, Titus Somseb and Mitchel Kotze touching down. Willon du Plessis and Brendon Brendell each managed a conversion.

Wayne Maasdorp converted a penalty for ERA.

Sparta United Rugby Club suffered a 17 – 10 defeat against SFC Vikings on their home ground in Walvis Bay last week.

Dion Venter scored a try, with Stuart McAlphine and Wolfgang Rohl adding penalties for Sparta RC.

Kyle Wentzel and Lionel Coetzee scored tries for SFC Vikings. Kyle Wentzel successfully converted both tries and also added a penalty.

Francois Oosthuizen was named Vikings’ player of the match. Louis van Zyl was named best forward player and Lovelle Delie best back line player.

FNB Western Suburbs defeated Kudus Rugby Club 31-28 in the premier league match in Windhoek. Kudus is now placed fifth on the log, with FNB Wanderers leading, followed by Unam (2nd) and Trustco United (3rd).