D-Jay’s long awaited third album released

11 February 2019 | Art and Entertainment

D-Jay; rapper; “I am just glad that everybody can finally enjoy the results of a project that kept me busy for quite some time.”

Adolf Kaure - Namibian rapper Diogene Ochs (31) who grew up in Walvis Bay and is better known as D-Jay released his long awaited third album recently.

The album titled Champion: The Gift and the Curse consists of 16 tracks and has been in the making for quite some time. D-Jay released his first album, Game Over, in 2009 and followed this up with Favourite Rapper in 2010.

The versatile rapper, who is well-known for his punchlines and word play, signed with Deal Done Recordz in 2018. This move has aided his development as an artist.

He told Erongo what it means to finally release his latest album after seven years.

“It’s a great feeling and I’m just glad that everybody can finally enjoy the results of a project that kept me busy for quite some time. I am also glad to have a good manager in Djokic Dragan from Deal Done Recordz behind me and believe we will do miracles together.”

There are quite a number of songs which stand out on the album in which D-Jay collaborates with several prominent artists like Don Kamati, Mabuzza, DJ Dozza, Staxx Major, Young T, Promise, Dice, Ethnix, Jericho, Otjinate and LoSki.

The first four songs titled “Fire”, “Siwelewele 2018”, “Money” and “Anything” set the tone to what is a superb album.

In “Fire” D-Jay raps about surviving the negativity which is sometimes aimed at him in his career.

“Siwelewele 2018” describes how he managed to survive. The song is catchy and contains a chorus from “Siwelewele”, one of Namibia’s most recognisable songs of the 1990s.

“Money” is about the rapper’s resolve not to do anything for free anymore, especially as an established musician who has been in the industry for over ten years.

“Anything” contains a solemn promise that the artist is prepared to do anything for his son.

D-Jay shared the stage with the likes of Teargas, Mandoza, Davido, Jozi, HHP, JR, Bleksem, Zola, AKA, among many others and won the Sanlam/NBC Namibia Music Award for best rapper in 2008 and 2009.